A Crack in the Air

“The only way of discovering the limits of the possible is to venture a little way past them into the impossible.”

– Arthur C. Clarke













I awoke                                                                                                                         

                                                                                        from a late morning nap, sleepy                                                     and                                                   groggy, my mind still filled 

with the gossamers 

of insomnia, 

fogging up my vision. 








I pushed back the blankets and                                                                             

  carefully made my way down                                                     

from my bunk, Bunk 59-A to be specific,                                          

and walked over to the bathroom        

                   area to conduct my business.

The sun was shining brightly

 as the skies blazed 

in a vibrant hue of blue;                  

another glorious and cloudless day,                                           

the kind of day one imagines 

as a perfect summer day. 

The rays of light       shine through                the windows;                 golden blades of                   steely light                       crossing over                 my path as if                           I was some                     scantily                             dressed assistant                    to some                          eccentric                        magician, preparing               to send                         me through               a dangerously convoluted          contraption                    of a trick                                 which involves                            me                          being                                   sawed in half; cleaved in two; sliced                                                             and diced; chopped and scalloped                                                                  and shredded, yet remaining                                                                                             perfectly intact the entire time; the revelation of the obstacle as I make my way to the other end of the gauntlet

 completely untouched unharmed, 

unmoved; 




the same as I was in the first place:                        an inmate in blue; shades

 of blue; sky and midnight and                  navy varieties; layers of sadness; 

of sorrow; of grief; of regret; of remorse;          of anger; of frustration; of

 dysfunction; of revenge; of hate; of loss; of                         degradation; of

 schisms; or raptures; of discrimination; of pain;               of hopelessness;

 of not having enough words to describe the situation to everyone, but at least they didn’t choose red.

Although I would                     have had a lot of fun 

with the old school                  striped from the past: 

adding some                                            stars to them, 

turning myself into     a      walking representation 

of the country                                               these days; 

bars                                   and                                  gripes. 

Anyways, I was getting distracted from what I was telling you, the whole point of this tale.









I was returning to my bunk,                                                    

having completed my task                                                                                       

and was preparing to                                                                                                

climb back up and maybe                                                                                       

read a book to help pass the time,                                                                         

when something,                                                                                                       

                                                                                                      let’s say, peculiar, 

caught my eye;                                                                                                            

something out of                                                                                           place; 

something                                                                                that didn’t 

belong, 

    and I don’t just mean within the confines of a prison, but in the     confines of this planet, this Galaxy even, this plane of existence.




    Letting go of my bunk’s ladder, I made my way over to the     impossible, the curiosity which had ensnared my attention. The strangest thing, which I was not at all prepared to understand, and yet     was there in the middle of the pathway between the endless rows of     bunks; in the middle of the normality of the mundane, floated a crack.



    That’s right: a     crack, like the kind you’d find on the sidewalk; removed and    suspended in the air like a feather caught in a spider’s web. A sundering in        reality, simply hanging there like a Christmas ornament, but the oddest            thing about it was its three-dimensionality, and the fact         that no one else seemed to notice it, or that I was even     examining it, as if I had been rendered invisible through a trickery of                             optics just by drawing my attention to it.






It was a sliver of light that   shimmered from all directions. A hole from

 every side. I leaned in          closer, but could only see the white radiance

 from within. I leaned in              even closer and it pulsed. I gasped; it

 pulsed again; I held my                  breath; it pulsed once more. Daring 

reason to stay with me,                          I raised my arm and did what any 

science-likened mind                  would do, and stuck my finger in it, 

batting caution to the           wind. I mean, what’s the worst that could

 happen? There’s already a three-dimensional crack floating before

 me, yet unlike a black             hole, it isn’t pulling me in, and everything

 else for that matter, save     for me curiosity. It was a perpetual white 

hole of sorts, breaking     all of the known laws of physics.




Somehow, 

my entire hand had been stuck inside and, 

despite its radiant,

 near heavenly brilliance, 

it felt cool on the other side of, 

whatever it was. 

It was not ominous, 

or deathly cold mind you, 

but rather refreshing and crisp,

 like the ideal Spring morning. 

It was invigorating in a way, 

feeling a sort of exciting and lovely electricity 

dance over the surfaces of my skin; 

microscopic sparks jumping 

between the fine hairs of my hand, 

sending 

a tingling

 sensation 

up my arm

 and gleefully

 registering in 

the synapses 

of my brain. 








Strange doesn’t even begin to describe it.

I soon                       realized                     that my arm had been                    engulfed in                        this riven                             in the air, and had grown to accommodate the larger                  appendage which had entered it, although its general                      shape remained the same. Slowly, I attempted to                                   pull my arm back out, only to find it stuck, not immobile,           but more akin to being in a tar pit or a dumpster filled with grease            and fat from a liposuction clinic; it was a mucus like substance,        which made it harder and harder to move my arm, until its                                 resistance overcame my own strength.

                                                                                             Panic crept into me slowly like a quietly rising tide                                                               on a serene beach. I tried to pull myself out once again, budging an inch or two, only to                            be lured back more than I had pulled out. This continues               until my shoulder was against the shimmering threshold. For      some reason I thought that this must be what fish feel when they see                                                                                   our brightly colored lures.





















Deciding

 to give freedom 

one final shot, I pulled 

with all of my remaining 

strength to see if I can break 

away, but it’s all futile. I can’t even

 move an inch. Yet curiously, I didn’t

 sink in further either. Maybe this is as far as it

 goes, I tell myself with some inkling of hope, even though

 my arm feels nothing but the persistent numbing sensation of 

nothingness on the other side of this magnificently terrifying anomaly.

 The more I think about HOW this is possible, the deeper I stumbled 

down Alice’s rabbit hole.

Resigned to the fact that I      couldn’t liberate myself from this thing, I opted to cry for help, but     before I could even squeak a word, something grabbed a hold of       my arm and tugged me with such force that I am pulled into the             crack of light with relative ease and the grace of a stumbling ballerina      trying desperately to catch themselves as they saunter off to the           background:

Exit Stage Right.












For whatever reason,                        I closed my eyes as I was pulled in; it’s a natural reaction,               I’m sure you can relate to. When I opened them once again, I found          myself afloat; drifting; gliding through and alien sky, a spatial dimension                 I never dared to imagine, full of strangely colored stars and                   queerly constructed planets that seemed to have more in                    common with a round, cat’s eye marble than                               anything else.

Below me,                                               

                                                       I found a sun of wonderful proportions, 

                                                       making it difficult to tell how far away I 

                                                         was from it. All I knew was that it took 

                                                          up nearly the entirety of my view. The 

                                                        most peculiar aspect of it though was its 

                                                            color: purple, a deep, cool purple; the 

                                                 kind of purple fit for a king, regal and royal. 

                              My attention was completely absorbed by its sheer 

                weirdness,                    and let’s be honest here,                     what hasn’t                                been weird                          about                       this whole                                            ordeal? that                                       I failed to notice a                                  different fiery,                                       albeit smaller in                           cosmic terms, ball of fury                            speeding                            towards my                                                        general                                                                                direction.

My

 panic 

returned,

 only 

this 

time 

as 

stormfront 

as 

tried 

desperately 

to 

find 

some 

purchase 

to 

avoid 

the 

oncoming 

devastation;

 waving 

my 

arms;

 kicking 

my 

feet;

 swimming 

within 

the 

void 

of 

this 

strange 

space. 























                                                            The fact that I didn’t have a space suit 

                                                           on didn’t bother me at all, yet the fact 

                                                           that a planet-sized orb of blue flames was

                                                      rushing to little old me, did. It most

               terrifyingly did.

I flailed             
and flopped,                                      
kicked and paddled, 

                                                     
but nothing 

seemed to work: 










I was             stuck in the                 bullseye of this                 cosmic dartboard,                        face                         to                                     face with the 

oncoming 

onslaught

 of

 Oblivion; 

the stampeding annihilation; 

the marauding obliteration of myself,

ready to be erased from existence, 

all because of my curiosity in a miniscule 

crack                                                          of                                                       light





 caught suspended in the air.





























The blue dwarf star was now                                    directly in front of me, taking up my 

entire field of vision.    I was                                                             nowhere near ready to die, but I was ready to

 face it nonetheless.                                                     Closer and closer it got; I could                                            imagine its infernal

 roar; its rage; its fury, as it                              approached, though why I thought                                                it was 

angry I did not know. I guess                                                                       we’re taught to assume                                                     if you’re inflamed, 

you            must              be                 angry.

                                             It is very close now. 

Closer than one could                                                  possibly be to a star,

 but then again,                                                   

here I was, floating in the vacuum         of space, about to

 be taken out like an astronomical bowling pin.

 ‘Impossible‘                                                 

was no longer a part of my                      

 vocabulary at this point.


















I closed                                      my eyes                                                                   and spread out                                              my arms and                                    legs, praying to whatever 

God or gods

 there may be here for

 a quick and 

painless death.

 I can feel the sparks of flame kissing the surfaces of my skin. It is so 

close now. And as I prepared myse—










































COUNT TIME! COUNT TIME! THIS IS A MANDATORY SIT-UP COUNT! NO TV’S, ELECTRONICS, OR HEADPHONES, AND ABSOLUTELY NO TALKING! IT IS NOW COUNT TIME!’

I sprung up from my bed to find myself in my bunk.

A dream.































It was all a dream.

























At least my bed isn’t wet.

The day has still only begun and nothing has been done. Something                                                                                                                        tells me this                                                                                                                   is going to                                                                                                       be a really long day.

                                                  












                                                  FIN

Leave a comment