The Portal

Troublesome doesn’t even begin to explain it…














































The intrusion                                                                                  appeared 

out of nowhere 

and led to nowhere

 and everywhere. 

I woke up to find it 

at the foot of my bed 

next to the bathroom door, 

just sitting there, 

like a gaping mouth of some monstrous creature, 

at rest or patiently                                                         waiting for curiosity 

to lure some                                 unwitting                              prey closer, 

I could not tell,                                                   but there it was…

there                        it                        is.

From a distance, 

it didn’t look like it went that far in, 

maybe a foot or two,

 and yet it was so dark within,

 like a black hole descending into oblivion. 

Carefully I got up 

and                     reached                 inside, 

hoping to                 feel          the back wall,

 but it                  was            so cold, 

so devoid                                                  of light, 

so                         unbelievably             empty,

 it felt like I was falling. 

Vertigo took over                       and           I ran from my room. 

That was the last straw and it has only been a few minutes. 

I grabbed my coat and keys, 

drove to Home Depot 

as if my life depended on it.

I returned                                                                                             

 home sometime later                                               

with several 

p l a n k s 

o            f 

2   x  10  

b o a r ds 

a     n     d 

s e v e r a l 

d  o  z  e  n 

4     –   inch 

n  a  i  l  s  , 

frantically brought them up to my room in a single trip,

                                                                                not wanting to delay 

                                       my mission any longer than it had to 

only to find that the intrusion had disappeared

 –          –          – 

there was just a solid wall of beige paint, 

just like the rest of my room. 

No sign that there was ever a gateway 

into the infinite void, 

no scratches,                                                                

                                                                     no nail marks, 

no cut lines,                                                             

                                                                   nothing at all. 

Had I                                                     imagined

 it all due to my lack of sleep 

or was I truly going mad 

because of my work schedule? 

                         Nothing made sense 

                      and yet there I was, 

                                               standing in my room with wood, 

                    nails, and hammer, 

                       unsure of what I saw, 

yet adamant that I saw something.

Nevertheless,                                                                                                           

 I raised the first board,                                                                                           

and hammered it into my wall                                                                           

 and where the intrusion had been.                                                                     

After a dozen                                                                                                           

or so boards had been put in place,                                                                  

I flipped my bed around,                                                                                    

turned out the lights,                                                                      

  downed a half bottle of Melatonin                

                       and a glass of wine, and went to bed.


























.                                                                             .                 . 

























.                                               .                                                  .

























.                       .                                                                                .






























I awoke                                                                                

to find the boards                                                                        

 I had hammered                                                                                  

still in place and behind it through                                                                   

my unprofessional gaps,                                                               

that the void had not returned.                                                            

Maybe I had imagined it all after all.                                                              

I stretched,                                                

 rose out of bed,                        

 went to the bathroom,                        

                                       and closed the door behind me 

                                                               only to have it swing 

                                                             all the way around 

                                                                       and slam into the adjacent wall 

                                                       with such force,

                                                            that I leaped in terror. 

                                                     I turned back to find

 that the doorway                                                        was a full foot wider

 than the                                                            door itself. 

I stood in                                                         the bathroom, 

not wanting to                                                          take my eyes off

 the perversion                                                                 before me,

 not wanting to                                                              miss something else 

that may                                                                              be wrong. 

The intrusion                                                           was still here.

O — I stood in that bathroom                             for what felt like days,                                    unable to tear my eyes                                           away from what I witnessed:                                   a doorway larger than its door.                                  Finally, the fear overcame me,                                         my patience                              ran out and                           I followed suit.                                      As I exited the room,                                      I tripped and crashed into my bed,                                                              spilling across my covers like                               oil in the ocean,                                      tangled and matted,                                     I flailed madly.                                        As I struggled to regain composure,                                          I heard the distinct and                           horrifying sound of nails                                      being torn                                from their housing in                                a violent fashion                                 accompanied by the thunderous splintering of wood.                                        The walls crumbled in a mechanical,                                        yet organic cacophony                                                    of noise and distortion                                                                                                                                                                             —                                                               grinding, 

morphing,                             

 transforming;                                             

                  forming into something else, 

                                 becoming something else; 

                                           becoming the sky, 

                           becoming the ground, 

becoming the void                                

I dreaded yet knew nothing about.                                          

I could feel the emptiness breathing, pulsing with each monstrous gasp.

Fear took over my senses as logic                                                    egressed from my mind. I struggled to

 right myself and swim to the surface                                                              of the sea of blankets and sheets I

 found myself in. When                                                                     my head finally broke through, I was greeted

 with an even more horrifying reality:                                                              there was no portal.

The wall was unchanged,                                                the intrusion was gone, the bathroom door

 was as benign as it had always been.                                                                       It was then that I decided that I

 had truly gone mad.                                                         It had been so real, so vibrant, so tangible, and

 unavoidable.

I spent that night sleeping in my living room…

…and sure enough, my troubles returned. 

My sleep                                came to an abrupt                                                       end as that                                  carnivorous sound 

                                                                                      erupted throughout 

                                                                                             the house. 

                                                                                     Pipes bent, 

                                                                                     walls folded, floors 

                                            contorted, and I sat at the center 

                               of the intoxicating chaos 

                                   around me. 

                          Everything pulsed with an unnatural 

                                    undulation,

         as if reality itself 

was retching itself up from the very foundations of creation. 

                                The abyss broke 

        through the windows as the intrusion seeped through the cracks 

of my living space.                                                    

 I didn’t know where to go; 

I didn’t know where I could go.

                                             Everything spun and everything collapsed under the pressure                                                 of the disembodiment of reality. I scrambled to my feet and ran                                                 down the hallway, trying to find my way                                    out of the labyrinth that was once                                                             my home, but whenever I got close to where                                                                  my front door should have been, I ended up back                                                                in my room, and at the                                                        center of it all, was that damned intruder,                                                            the perversion of space, the black void of nothingness that led to nowhere.

It just stood there, not attached to anything at all,                                        

a hole in reality hovering, praying, simply being existent                               

 with its own non-existence. An impossibility impossibly                           

 before me, yet before me nonetheless. I turned away                           

from it and ran, ran until my veins burned, but every time              

 I thought I had found my way out, I would be confronted                         

 with the monolith of the intruder. With all the chaos around                 

 me, this ebon gap was peaceful, serene, almost tranquil                  

in its lack of substance. It was almost holy,                      

almost divine.                                                                    

But I cannot give up,                                                      I could not give up. 

I ran and ran and ran and ran                                      until my lungs felt like

 sandpaper. Finally,                                                 I collapsed, I fell to my

 hands and knees. My house was                                      barely there, a

 swirling mess of debris save                                                 for the parts I had

 rested upon, and                                             there before me, ever vigilant,

 was that thing, that emptiness.                                           It called to me

 with a harmonizing                                                   hum, a comforting buzz,

 a cosmic purring that                                                lured me closer to it.

 I knew this thing was malevolent,                                  but for whatever

 reason, when it                                                 beckoned my name like an

 echo eons old, I had to                                         obey. Slowly I climbed to

 my feet and hobbled closer                               towards the empty hole.

 Everything spun like a tunnel                                         around my pathway

 with me at one end and                                                     the monolith of

 void at the other.

I stepped closer and reached out towards it. Completely giving into my fears yet abandoning them just the same. The tips of my fingers touched and then fell through. I don’t remember much else. I awoke on my bed, a sweaty mess of tangled sheets and torn fabric. I can’t remember anything at all.























The wall was as it always had been.





































The bathroom door fit.























…but a darkness now found its home inside of me, and whenever I closed my eyes, even to blink, I see it, that ominous void, calling to me, pulling me, summoning me to join it somewhere in the outermost reaches of the cosmos, beyond reality where all things fall apart.

FIN

Leave a comment